## A brief history of the Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand

The first recorded move to form an Australian Cardiac Society consisted of an informal discussion by six FRACPs, which took place at the College building in Sydney on 14 April 1951. The primary advocates were Dr (later Sir) Kempson Maddox and Dr John Halliday.

Initially it was decided to form an Australian Cardiac Society, but the possible inclusion of New Zealand was enthusiastically discussed in line with the constitution of the RACP. As no New Zealanders were present, it was felt that an inquiry should be made before inauguration the next year.

A provisional Committee was established based on state representation. It was agreed that there should be 'Ordinary' and 'Associate' Members. The latter could be surgeons, lay members or medical graduates who were not Members or Fellows of the RACP. It was also agreed that annual meetings would be held at around the same time but not simultaneously with the College ASM; that the constitution of the Society embody a rule that some speakers should address the College of Physicians on subjects of general interest; and that the Society, if formed, should affiliate with the International Society of Cardiology (now the World Heart Federation).

The inaugural meeting was held at the Royal Adelaide Hospital on 27 May 1952 at which time a committee was formed and a constitution, similar to that of the British Cardiac Society was agreed upon. Forty-seven physicians and surgeons were accepted as Ordinary Members and elected as Foundation Members. There was representation from New Zealand at the 1952 meeting and the name of the Society was The Australasian Cardiac Society.

In 1957 the name was changed to The Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand (CSANZ). With this change there was heightened interest from those outside the Foundation Members and in 1958 Dr Edward Roche, a highly respected Auckland physician and cardiologist, was elected as the CSANZ's third President.

On 20 March 1958 the first members of the New Zealand Regional Committee were elected and there was a proviso that a New Zealand member of the Council (now the Board), be an ex officio member of the Committee. There have been five New Zealand Presidents of the combined society: Edward Roche 1958-1960, John Hunter 1976-1978, Sir Brian Barratt-Boyes 1986-1988 and Harvey White 2002-2004. The current President is New Zealander Professor Mark Webster 2016-

The CSANZ has held Annual Scientific Meetings (ASMs) commencing in 1953 in Hobart and rotating around Australian and New Zealand venues. The society is involved in writing guidelines and giving advice to the public.

The Society also has a strong commitment to improving Indigenous cardiovascular health. Scholarships funded by the Society were introduced in 2002 for Aborigine, Torres Strait Islanders and Maori. In 2009 an Inaugural Indigenous meeting was held in Sydney.

Fellowship of the Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand was introduced in 2004.

ASMs in Australia and New Zealand attract hundreds of delegates annually, and excellent sponsorship support. The little medical club has grown into an important New Zealand and Australian body and an international society recognized by its fellowship with responsibilities for professional education, medical standards and advice to Government bodies.

Originally written by

Lynne Portelli Former Executive Officer The Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand

Professor Harvey White Former President FCSANZ, Director of Coronary Care & Green Lane Cardiovascular Research Unit, Green Lane Cardiovascular Service Auckland City Hospital, Auckland, New Zealand