

# Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand

www.cardiacsociety.org.nz

## **Rules for the New Zealand Region**

## 1. Introduction

- 1.1 The New Zealand Fellows (FCSANZ), Members, Honorary and Life Members of the Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand shall comprise the New Zealand Region of the Society
- 1.2 The Constitution of the full Society shall govern the procedures for the New Zealand Region
- 1.3 There shall be a Regional Committee elected from and by the members of the New Zealand Region

## 2. Purpose

2.2 The purpose and role of this committee is to advocate for the Society's membership and people with heart disease, and to support cardiac research and facilitate professional development of members in order to improve the care of patients with cardiovascular disease.

## 3. The Composition of the Committee

- 3.1 The New Zealand Regional Committee shall consist of:
  - Chair
  - A Treasurer/Deputy Chair
  - One member from each of the following regions:

Northern

Mid

Central

Southern

- A Cardiac Surgeon
- Member of the Board or their delegate
- A Paediatric Cardiologist or Paediatric Cardiac Surgeon
- A representative from each current working group, the Chair or their delegate
- A Member Representative Nurse
- A Member Representative Allied Health
- 3.2 The committee shall co-opt at their discretion:
  - The Chair of the RACP New Zealand Advanced Training Subcommittee in Cardiology or their delegate
  - The Medical Director of the National Heart Foundation of New Zealand or their delegate
  - The Chair of Cardiac Network or their delegate
  - A representative/s of any other subgroup within the New Zealand region

- The Convenor of the upcoming ASM
- The Chair-Elect
- Or any other member of the New Zealand region
- 3.3 The Chair will normally reside in a different city from the retiring Chair
- 3.4 The immediate Past Chair shall be an additional Member of the Committee for one year after vacating office
- 3.5 Members of the committee must be financial

#### 4. Terms of Office

- 4.1 Members of the Committee shall be eligible for re-election for two (2) year terms up to a maximum period of three (3) terms' continuous service, further terms beyond six (6) years of continuous service for any committee member is at the committee's discretion
- 4.2 The appointment of the Chair is for a two year term. A member may continue to serve beyond six(6) years if prior to being elected as Chair they were a member of the committee
- 4.3 The Treasurer shall be elected for a two (2) year term and be eligible for re-election for a maximum of two (2) term within the six (6) years' continuous service
- 4.4 Regional representatives shall be eligible for re-election to a two (2) year term to a maximum period of two (2) terms' continuous service unless exceptional circumstances arise, then the maximum may be three (3) terms. Regional representatives must not be the contemporaneous Chair of their regional Cardiac Network
- 4.5 All terms for elected positions will start and end in line with the New Zealand ASM and AGM. The Chair must be elected the year prior to starting their term as Chair. Members who are representatives of other groups may align their term on this committee with their term on the group they are representing
- 4.6 Members, excluding the Chair and Treasurer, may have multiple responsibilities on the committee. The Treasurer will also act as Deputy Chair
- 4.7 Elected regional members shall be nominated and elected by members of their own region
- 4.8 Co-opted members are non-voting members

## 5. Election of Members

- 5.1 Each Member shall be elected at the Annual General Meeting of the New Zealand Region
- 5.2 Nominations for the Committee must be signed by the proposer, seconder, and the person nominated and submitted to the Executive Officer one month before the Annual General Meeting
- 5.3 The election of the Committee will be carried out at the Annual General Meeting
- 5.4 In the event of insufficient advance nominations being received, nominations will be accepted at the Annual General Meeting

## 6. New Zealand Annual Scientific Meeting

- 6.1 A subcommittee of this committee is responsible for the Annual Scientific Meeting
- 6.2 The Treasurer, a regional FCSANZ member (the convenor) and another appropriate regional representative shall comprise this subcommittee referred to as the organising committee
- 6.3 The Organising Committee shall be responsible for arranging the Annual Scientific Meeting of the New Zealand Region, including the selection of scientific papers

## 7. The Charitable Trust

- 7.1 The Regional Committee shall have the power to form and run a Charitable Trust the principle of which is to run the New Zealand Annual Scientific Meetings
- 7.2 A subcommittee of the New Zealand Regional Committee will also serve as the Board of the Cardiac Society Charitable Trust. The Board will consist of five (5) members from this committee, the Chair, Treasurer, one (1) member representative and two (2) regional representatives

## 8. Meeting

- 8.1 All Committee Members (excluding those co-opted) shall have equal voting rights, except that the Chair shall have the casting vote
- 8.2 The committee shall normally meet face to face three (3) times annually with one (1) teleconference, with additional meetings as required

## 9. Reporting

- 9.1 The elected Regional Board member will also be a member of the Regional Committee, usually the Chair of this committee
- 9.2 The minutes from this committee will be made available to the Board
- 9.3 This committee will oversee the governance for the working groups which are active in the New Zealand region, including the ratification of terms of reference

#### 10. Administration

- 10.1 The financial year for the New Zealand Region shall coincide with that of the full Society, i.e. from 1 May to 30 April
- 10.2 The Chair via the Executive Officer will maintain a website and build and maintain a presence on social media
- 10.3 The role of secretary is fulfilled by the Executive Officer, a contracted position, who is non-voting

Ratified by the NZ Committee on 26 June 2020